Why it matters
The 280C is the earlier version of Dogtra's 280 line, sold here as the Tom Davis Edition 2.0 and a Boost & Lock edition. It fits dogs from 10 lb and expands to two dogs. Dogtra's newer 280X adds a level lock and IPX9K rating as standard.
Who it's for, and who should skip it
Good fit if
- Dogs 10 lb and up
- Two-dog homes
- Tom Davis method users
Look elsewhere if
- Dogs under the maker's minimum weight
- Fearful or reactive dogs without a trainer
- Owners wanting a quick fix for aggression
Pros and cons
Pros
- Small-dog fit
- Expandable
- Known brand
Cons
- Superseded
- Range not listed
- Price
Limitations to weigh
- Static stimulation is an aversive. Many vets and welfare groups advise reward-based training first and a qualified trainer before using any e-collar; start at the lowest level that gets a response and never use it in anger.
- Check fit daily, move the receiver every few hours and limit wear time (makers commonly say no more than 8 to 12 hours a day) to avoid pressure sores.
- Range figures are the maker's open-ground numbers; trees, hills and buildings cut real range.
Specifications
Every figure below comes from the source shown in brackets. Where the maker doesn't state something, we say so instead of estimating.
| Price | $249.99 | Maker |
|---|---|---|
| Min dog | 10 lb and up | Maker |
| Dogs supported | Expandable to 2 dogs | Maker |
| Range | Not stated by the maker | Not stated |
Alternatives worth comparing
More remote trainers we cover
- Dogtra 1900X Remote Training Collar $254.99
- Dogtra ARC-X Remote Training Collar $254.99
- SportDOG SportTrainer 1275 $264.99
- Garmin Sport PRO Dog Training Bundle $299.99
All remote trainers, compared in one table · Every Dogtra product we cover
Final verdict
A solid but older Dogtra.
Where to buy
Our links open this exact model's product page. Prices and stock change; check what's included before you order.
Each button opens this exact model. Disclosure


