Comparison · Automatic Feeders

Whisker Feeder-Robot vs PetSafe Smart Feed

Two app feeders, compared on capacity, portions and support.

Whisker Feeder-Robot

Whisker Feeder-Robot

App, 3-year warranty.

$299

View at Whisker
vs
Our verdict

Pick the PetSafe Smart Feed for most dogs: it holds 24 cups, serves 1/8 to 4 cups per meal up to 12 times a day, and costs less than half as much. Pick the Whisker Feeder-Robot if you feed small portions (up to 1 cup) and value its 3-year warranty and 90-day trial.

The central trade-off

Portions. Smart Feed serves up to 4 cups per meal; Feeder-Robot up to 1 cup, so larger dogs may need several scheduled feeds.

Support. Whisker offers a 3-year warranty and 90-day in-home trial. Smart Feed needs a 2.4 GHz router.

Power. Both can run on backup power: Whisker with an optional battery, PetSafe with D-cells.

Side by side

SpecificationWhisker Feeder-RobotPetSafe Smart Feed (2nd Generation)
Price seen$299$134.99
CapacityNot stated by the maker24 cups
Portion range1/8 cup to 1 cup1/8 to 4 cups
Meals per day812
Backup powerOptional (+$40), about 24 h in power-saving modeAC adaptor; optional 4 D-cell backup
Warranty3 yearsNot stated by the maker

Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

Which should you choose?

Choose the Whisker Feeder-Robot if

  • You feed small portions
  • You want a long warranty
  • You want an in-home trial

Full reference

Choose the PetSafe Smart Feed (2nd Generation) if

  • You feed a medium dog
  • You want big portions
  • You want the lower price

Full reference

How we research · Disclosure