Pick the Nova if you want SpotOn's newest hardware and its stated sub-five-foot accuracy. Pick the Omni if you want the same no-plan fencing for less and its neck range (10–26 in) fits your dog.
The central trade-off
Same system. Both use SpotOn's 151-satellite network, fence without a required plan, and come with a 1-year warranty and 90-day returns.
Price. The Omni lists $100 less than the Nova.
Fit and accuracy. SpotOn states the Nova's accuracy as under five feet and a 15 lb minimum dog; the Omni lists a 10–26 in neck range.
Side by side
| Specification | SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Nova Edition) | SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Omni Edition) |
|---|---|---|
| Price seen | $999 | $899 |
| Subscription | Optional (fencing works without a plan) | Optional (fencing works without a plan) |
| Satellites | 151-satellite network | 151-satellite network |
| Accuracy (maker claim) | Under five feet (maker claim, asterisked) | Not stated by the maker |
| Dog fit | 15 lb | 10 in |
| Warranty | 1 year | 1 year |
Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.
Which should you choose?
Choose the SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Nova Edition) if
- You want SpotOn's newest collar
- You want the tightest stated accuracy
- Budget isn't the deciding factor
Choose the SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Omni Edition) if
- You want to save $100
- Your dog's neck is 10–26 in
- You don't need the newest hardware

