Comparison · Dog Fences & Containment

Halo Collar 5 vs SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Nova)

Two leading GPS fences built on opposite business models. Your yard size and your feelings about subscriptions decide it.

Halo Collar 5

Halo Collar 5

Fences from 900 sq ft upward, stored in the collar; membership required.

$599

View at Halo
vs
SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Nova Edition)

SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Nova Edition)

Fencing works without a plan; tracking is an optional add-on.

$999

View at SpotOn
Our verdict

Pick the Halo Collar 5 if your yard is under about a third of an acre or you want tracking built in, and accept the required membership. Pick the SpotOn Nova if you have a larger or wooded property and want fencing with no monthly bill, and can absorb a $999 device price.

The central trade-off

Yard size. Halo states fences can be as small as 900 sq ft. SpotOn designs the Nova for properties from about a third of an acre (roughly 14,500 sq ft). For a typical suburban lot, that difference alone settles it.

Who you pay, and when. Halo's Pack Membership is required for fences and tracking (from $9.99 a month). SpotOn's fencing works with no plan; its plans ($7.49 to $9.95 a month, depending on term) add tracking. Over three years, a Halo owner pays the device price plus at least $360 of membership at the lowest monthly rate; a SpotOn owner can pay nothing more.

Accuracy claims. Both makers publish accuracy figures (Halo: within 1.4 ft; SpotOn: under five feet). Neither figure is SnoutSmart's measurement, and both depend on sky view, trees and buildings, so don't choose on these numbers alone.

Side by side

SpecificationHalo Collar 5SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Nova Edition)
Price seen$599$999
SubscriptionRequired (Pack Membership Plan)Optional (fencing works without a plan)
Smallest fence or property (maker)900 sq ft to 1,200 sq milesAbout 1/3 acre
Accuracy (maker claim)Within 1.4 ft of true outdoor location (Halo's own claim)Under five feet (maker claim, asterisked)
Battery life (maker)Up to 48 hoursNot stated by the maker
Works without cell serviceFences stored in the collar; work without Wi-Fi or cellularYes, fences work without cellular
Warranty1 year1 year

Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

Which should you choose?

Choose the Halo Collar 5 if

  • Your yard is under about a third of an acre
  • You want live tracking included
  • You'll charge every day or two (up to 48 hours per Halo)

Full reference

Choose the SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Nova Edition) if

  • You have a third of an acre or more, including wooded land
  • You want no required subscription
  • You can pay $999 up front

Full reference

SnoutSmart compares published specifications and dated prices; we have not handled these products side by side. How we research · Disclosure