Comparison · Dog Crates & Kennels

Gunner G1 vs Impact Collapsible Crate

Two premium crates with different priorities: car safety listing versus folding aluminum.

GUNNER G1 Kennel

GUNNER G1 Kennel

CPS five-star sizes, lifetime warranty.

$550

View at GUNNER
vs
Impact Collapsible Dog Crate

Impact Collapsible Dog Crate

Aluminum, folds flat, Small from 10 lb.

$760

View at Impact Dog Crates
Our verdict

Pick the Gunner G1 if car travel safety is the priority: its Small, Medium and Intermediate sizes are listed by the Center for Pet Safety, and Gunner backs it with a lifetime warranty. Pick the Impact Collapsible if you want a strong aluminum crate that folds flat for storage and travel, and don't need a crash-safety listing.

The central trade-off

Car safety. The Center for Pet Safety lists Gunner G1 Small, Medium and Intermediate. We found no crash documentation for the Impact Collapsible.

Storage. Impact's aluminum crate folds flat; the rotomolded Gunner does not.

Price and warranty. Gunner lists from $550 with a lifetime warranty; Impact lists at $760 (we saw $592.80 on sale).

Side by side

SpecificationGUNNER G1 KennelImpact Collapsible Dog Crate
Price seen$550$760
Crash documentationListed by the Center for Pet Safety in Small, Medium and Intermediate sizesNot stated by the maker
DesignNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
WarrantyLifetime warranty (maker)Not stated by the maker

Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

Which should you choose?

Choose the GUNNER G1 Kennel if

  • Car travel safety comes first
  • You want a lifetime warranty
  • You don't need it to fold

Full reference

Choose the Impact Collapsible Dog Crate if

  • You want it to fold flat
  • You prefer aluminum
  • Crash listing isn't a priority

Full reference

How we research · Disclosure