Pick the Fi Series 3+ if you want a collar you charge every few weeks to months and you have AT&T LTE-M coverage where your dog roams. Pick the Tractive DOG 6 if you want the lower device price, coverage across AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile, and health tracking, and don't mind charging every week or two.
The central trade-off
Battery. Fi states up to 3 months per charge; Tractive states up to 2 weeks. Both figures are best cases, and live tracking drains either one faster.
Coverage. Fi uses AT&T LTE-M. Tractive uses AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile LTE in the US, which helps in areas where one carrier is weak.
What you're buying. Fi is a whole collar; Tractive clips to your own collar and adds activity, sleep and scratching data. Both require a plan, so compare plan prices over two or three years.
Side by side
| Specification | Fi Series 3+ Smart Collar | Tractive DOG 6 GPS & Health Tracker |
|---|---|---|
| Price seen | $129 | $79 |
| Battery life (maker) | Up to 3 months | Up to 2 weeks |
| Network | AT&T LTE-M | AT&T, Verizon and T-Mobile LTE (U.S.) |
| Subscription | Required (GPS/LTE plan chosen at activation) | Required, sold separately from the tracker |
| Waterproofing (maker) | IP68/66K (maker-stated, salt water) | IP68 (maker-stated) |
| Smallest dog | Not stated by the maker | Not stated by the maker |
Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.
Which should you choose?
Choose the Fi Series 3+ Smart Collar if
- You want the longest time between charges
- AT&T coverage is good where you live
- You prefer an all-in-one collar
Choose the Tractive DOG 6 GPS & Health Tracker if
- You want the lower device price
- You need coverage across several carriers
- You want health and sleep tracking
SnoutSmart compares published specifications and dated prices; we have not handled these products side by side. How we research · Disclosure

